Centre Member Profile

Kenneth Crozier
Employer: University of Melbourne
Centre Role: Centre Deputy Director
Job Title in TMOS: Professor of Physics and Electronic Engineering, Node Leader
Research Interests:
- Metamaterials and plasmonics
- Photodetector devices based on nano-optics and nanostructured materials
- Optical nanotweezers
- Metasurfaces

Doctor of Philosophy, Electrical Engineering, 2003, Stanford University
Master of Science, Electrical Engineering, 1999, Stanford University
Bachelor of Science, Physics, 1996, University of Melbourne
Bachelor of Engineering with Honours, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, 1995, University of Melbourne

Kenneth Crozier is Deputy Director of the Australian Centre of Excellence (ARC) for Transformative Meta-Optical Systems (TMOS). He is also Professor of Physics and Electronic Engineering at the University of Melbourne. This is a joint appointment between the School of Physics and the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Prior to joining the University of Melbourne, Kenneth Crozier was an Associate Professor at Harvard University. He joined Harvard as an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering in 2004, and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2008. His research interests are in nano- and micro-optics, with an emphasis on plasmonics for surface enhanced Raman spectroscopy and optical forces, optofluidics and semiconducting nanowires. He received his undergraduate degrees in Electrical Engineering (with first class honours, with LR East Medal) and Physics at the University of Melbourne. He received his MSEE and PhD in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 1999 and 2003, respectively. In 2008, he was a recipient of a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation (USA) and a Loeb Chair at Harvard, an endowed position for junior faculty. In 2014, he was awarded an Innovation Fellowship from VESKI (Victorian Endowment of Science, Knowledge and Innovation) and an ARC Future Fellowship on his return to Australia. He is a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), of the Optical Society (OSA) and of the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE).